New Zealand’s Education System

Singapore’s Education System

New Zealand has long been widely regarded as a country with one of the top education systems in the world and has successfully nurtured countless students into skilled individuals over the years. Such an accomplishment is in line with their belief of developing one’s own initiative in exploring their interest and to enjoy to process of learning.

The New Zealand Ministry of Education (MoE) oversees all primary and secondary schools in the country to ensure strict adherence of the education standards and policies, and provide adequate support where required. The post-compulsory education sector on the other hand, is jointly monitored by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) and Tertiary Education Commission (TEC).

New Zealand’s education system consists of the following stages:



Primary education in New Zealand is compulsory and comprises of 8 years, known as Year 1 to Year 8, starting from the age of 6. The two main types of primary schools in New Zealand are contributing primary schools and full primary schools, with the former providing education for Year 1 to 6, and the latter offering the full 8 years of primary education. Students who complete their studies at contributing primary schools will have to enrol into an intermediate school for their Year 7 and 8 education.

Primary education in New Zealand is free for citizens and PR holders, and focuses on foundation learning across a range of subjects and competencies, especially in literacy and numeracy.


Learn more about studying in New Zealand with some commonly asked questions by our students

FAQ about studying in New Zealandimg

Learn more about how to apply to schools in New Zealand

How to apply to New Zealand schools img