Canada’s Education System

Singapore’s Education System

Canada is a large country consisting of 10 provinces and 3 territories. Unlike many countries where the education system is fully managed by the federal Ministry of Education, Canada does not have such a department in its government system. Instead, each provincial government in Canada is responsible for developing its own education policies in their respective areas.

Compulsory education in most areas of Canada begin at the age of 6 until 16, while certain provinces such as Ontario, Manitoba, and New Brunswick set the compulsory age of education to be until 18 years old. In general, the education system in Canada is divided into the following four stages listed below:


Pre-School Education

In Canada, children at the age of 4 or 5 have the option of attending kindergarten for 1 to 2 years for their pre-elementary education which is optional in most provinces except in British Columbia, Prince Edward Island, and New Brunswick where attending kindergarten is compulsory.

As pre-school education is not compulsory in most states, most Canadian kindergartens are private, though some do receive funding from the government while most of them are still regulated by the provincial government.

Pre-school prepares children for their compulsory school years and helps promote their physical, emotional, social and cognitive development at an early stage.


Learn more about studying in Canada with some commonly asked questions by our students

FAQ about studying in Canadaimg

Learn more about how to apply to the various schools in Canada

How to apply to Canada schools img